ARC Review: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Thank you so much to Tor Teen and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read and review an e-arc for A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price! This book is definitely different from what I normally read, but I’m so glad I decided to request it (and I’m so glad that I got approved to read the e-arc).

A Thousand Fires 4.5/5 stars

Summary from Goodreads: Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debutthink The Outsiders meets The Iliadthat’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

An extraordinary debut set in San Francisco and inspired by The Iliad…

Valerie Simons knows the city’s gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

But when Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags, their charismatic and volatile leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie fights to stay alive as she races across the streets of San Francisco to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

As usual, let’s start with the characters. At the beginning, I didn’t like Valerie at all. I understand that she was still grieving and that she blamed herself for her brother’s death, but it took me a little while to like her and really see her as a great narrator. I liked the interplay between Valerie and the rest of the Stags. And the Herons- man I loved them at the beginning because they seemed so cool and sophisticated, but as we dug deeper as readers, it was so interesting to see how much decay there was in the Herons and how much Valerie was lied to.

The plot itself was really interesting and I love how it was set in San Francisco. San Francisco is one of my favorite cities so it was nice to recognize some of the land marks. The story moved at a pretty good pace- it didn’t move too fast or drag anywhere and I really felt like everyone really grew within the book. Overall, I really liked this book and I definitely think y’all should read it! A Thousand Fires comes out on November 5th, so make sure you pre-order it or request it from your local library!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s