ARC Review: Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway

Happy Friday y’all! I meant to get this review out on Tuesday, but I wasn’t able to finish Storm from the East until yesterday because of work commitments so that’s why it’s late (ugh adulting). Thank you so much to NetGalley and Tor Teen for giving me the chance to read an eARC of this book! I read an ARC of the first book last year (read my review here) and man, it was really hard for me to get through it because it was super slow (in my opinion) but the end was really good and it got me super pumped for book 2, so when I saw this one on NetGalley, I HAD to request it!

Storm from the East 4/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads: Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

Unfortunately, this book started out a little bit like book one, in that I thought that it was a little bit too slow and there wasn’t anything that really pushed me to keep wanting to read until maybe the 50% mark- but man once I hit page 270 in the eARC, I could not put it down and I 100% read it during lunch and any time I had a free moment! Don’t get me wrong, interesting things happen before page 270, but they just didn’t seem to be happening in quick enough succession for me at that point.

I really liked how it seemed as though Aurelia grew up in this book- in book 1 she seemed too much like a child to me, so I didn’t like her chapters as much as I liked Athan’s. In this book, I liked both of their chapters equally. I’m so excited to see where Hathaway takes things in book 3!

Have you read Storm from the East? Let me know what you thought of it! And if not, definitely go check it out!

One thought on “ARC Review: Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s