ARC Review: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

Thank you so much to Netgalley and Kensington Books for letting me read an eARC of Anchored Hearts! This book came out yesterday, April 27, so make sure you go grab it now!

Anchored Hearts 4/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

A PopSugar Best Romance of April

Key West is the ideal backdrop for the summer read you need! Perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez, Jasmine Guillory, and Jen DeLuca, this gorgeous and stirring new love story from the author of Island Affair will touch your heart…

Award-winning photographer Alejandro Miranda hasn’t been home to Key West in years–not since he left to explore broader horizons with his papi’s warning echoing in his ears. He wouldn’t be heading there now if it wasn’t for an injury requiring months of recuperation. The drama of a prodigal son returning to his familia is bad enough, but coming home to the island paradise also means coming face to face with the girl he left behind–the one who was supposed to be by his side all along…

Anamaría Navarro was shattered when Alejandro took off without her. Traveling the world was their plan, not just his. But after her father’s heart attack, there was no way she could leave–not even for the man she loved. Now ensconced in the family trade as a firefighter and paramedic, with a side hustle as a personal trainer, Anamaría is dismayed that just the sight of Alejandro is enough to rekindle the flame she’s worked years to put out. And as motherly meddling pushes them together, the heat of their attraction only climbs higher. Can they learn to trust again, before the Key West sun sets on their chance at happiness?

So, this book is the second book in a series of sorts, and while these books can be read separately (I haven’t read book 1 yet), having read book 2 first, I definitely think reading book 1 will give you some insight into Anamaría’s family that you pick up along the way, but it might have been useful coming into the book with it. Overall though, Anchored Hearts was an adorable second chance romance with lots of focus on family and community and coming back to your roots while also fulfilling your dreams and being able to do them both at once. As someone who is really close to my family, I really appreciated that aspect of the book. Alejandro’s leg injury grossed me out, mainly because thinking about something like that with my own leg makes me nauseous. I really liked how so much of the book was about Anamaría getting out of her comfort zone and embracing her personal training and nutrition side business are more of her full time business and Alejandro confronting his demons at home and trying to get on better terms with his father, even though he’d never work in the family business. I loved their mothers meddling in their affairs and I honestly didn’t even mind that the real intense romance wasn’t in more than maybe a quarter of the book (so if you’re looking for an intense romance book, this probably isn’t the book for you). Overall, I highly recommend Anchored Hearts and I can’t wait to hear more about the love lives of the Navarro fam!

One thought on “ARC Review: Anchored Hearts by Priscilla Oliveras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s