ARC Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant

Thank you so much to Penguin Teen and Netgalley for letting me read an eARC of Tell Me When You Feel Something! I really loved the summary of this book because not only do I love thrillers, but when I was in high school, my doctor kept telling me that I should go be one of those mock patients (I could never figure out how to apply, so it never happened, but it sounded like such a cool program). Overall, the premise was cool, but I had a hard time with the execution.

Tell Me When You Feel Something 3.5/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as simulated patients at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

It seemed like a cool part-time program — being a simulated patient for med school students to practice on. But now vivacious, charismatic Viv lies in a very real coma. Cellphone footage just leads to more questions. What really happened? Other kids suspect it was not an intentional overdose — but each has a reason why they can’t tell the truth.

Through intertwining and conflicting narratives, a twisted story unfolds of trust betrayed as we sift through the seemingly innocent events leading up to the tragic night. Perhaps simulated patients aren’t the only people pretending to be something they’re not . . .

Overall, I was super excited about reading this- it’s got medicine and it was a thriller and you had multiple timelines, so everything I should have loved, but the execution was a little hard for me to understand. For example, it took me about 20% of the book to realize which sections within the chapters were Viv’s and which were Davida’s- I had gotten them confused and I thought that Davida was our main narrator throughout (which she definitely isn’t). Also, I just really didn’t like Davida or Tim, so the only sections I was really looking forward to reading were the ones from the police and Viv. The storyline itself, once it started coming together was really compelling and it took me a while to realize what had actually happened, but man, the last maybe like 15%-20% of the book was so intense and it’s so sad that there are people who can get away with sexual assault for so long and others will cover it up for them. This was a super interesting book and while I wasn’t a huge fan of the way it was executed, I’m still really glad I read it and I would still suggest other people reading it!

One thought on “ARC Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s