ARC Review: How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton

Thank you so much to Forever and Netgalley for letting me read an eARC of How Sweet It Is! And happy release day to it (which means that y’all can 100% go out and grab it after reading my review)!

How Sweet It Is 4/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

What happens when the queen of romance falls for the king of horror–you get “a hilarious rom-com comp,” perfect for fans of Beach Read. (Kirkus, starred review)

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets—or rather, accidentally maims—the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He’s really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction—one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone . . . including themselves.

“Fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert, and Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur will adore How Sweet It Is!” –The Nerd Daily

This book was so freaking cute! I loved that Kate was an event planner because I feel like a lot of times, people don’t give event planners the respect they deserve and as someone who’s helped plan my team’s part of giant corporate events in the past, events are no joke! The way that this book starts out with Kate at one of her weddings and sets the scene throughout showing the level of detail and precision that goes into her events and the way that she’s able to pivot at roll with the punches was amazing. I really enjoyed that. I also really loved Drake- I feel like he was the perfect love interest and I loved how much attention to detail he paid when crafting his stories- definitely something that him and Kate had in common. I also really enjoyed getting to know the Matthews family (are we getting spin off books for the other two Matthew brothers? I’d definitely grab those in a heartbeat!) and Imani and even the Sweets (even though Kate doesn’t always seem to have the best relationship with them). The general plot of the book was super cute and even though parts of it were pretty predictable (the conflict for one), it didn’t change my enjoyment of the book at all. The pacing was also really great- there were never points where I felt bored or uninterested- which is why I was able to finish this book in a matter of hours! All in all, I highly recommend How Sweet It Is for any of your fun, contemporary romance needs!

One thought on “ARC Review: How Sweet It Is by Dylan Newton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s