The Hookup Dilemma by Constance Gillam

Happy Wednesday y’all! What a busy, busy week it’s been! So many books have come out, and one of the ones that came out yesterday that I was able to read an eARC of (thank you so much to Entangled Amara and Netgalley for letting me do that) was The Hookup Dilemma. This book was definitely interesting and while it wasn’t amazing or my favorite, it wasn’t bad in any way.

The Hookup Dilemma 3.5/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, this laugh-out-loud #OwnVoices story proves that sometimes the least perfect arrangement can lead to something perfect for them.

Rashida Howard has never been a one-night-stand kind of woman, but she has good reason for making an exception with Elliott after meeting him in a bar. Cliché? Yes. Utterly amazing? Absolutely. Regrets? None.

Elliott Quinn is a workaholic. The one night he decides to break his routine, he has an encounter with the woman of his dreams. But no matter how amazing they are together, work will always come first.

Both of their lives get turned upside down when they find themselves on opposite sides of an ongoing fight between Elliott’s company and Rashida’s community. Though their chemistry is undeniable, neither of them will risk their integrity…or their heart.

And just when they think they might have found a solution that benefits both sides, they uncover a secret that will change everything.

I really wanted to love this book because it seemed amazing from the summary and it had some moments of brilliance, but overall, it was kind of just… there. Rashida and Elliott seemed very blah as characters and I had a hard time caring about either of them that much (although, I did want to read more about the side characters like Rashida’s sister and Elliott’s business partner). I liked the premise of the two of them sort of being unknown enemies to lovers, with Elliott’s father trying to rezone and build in Rashida’s grandmother’s neighborhood, but it felt as though Elliott didn’t have enough of a stake in the game since it wasn’t his business and he was able to detach himself. The conflict that causes Elliott and Rashida to have their big rift was super obvious and you could see what it was going to be early on in the book, but I actually liked aspects of that time, mainly because we got to see Elliott and Rashida’s sister interacting. I do wish that we got more insight into Rashida’s budding friendship with Lissa, because she kept talking about how she didn’t have many female friends and then later we found out that they had been hanging out a bunch and were close and it was like what? Why did we miss this? I liked how Constance Gillam portrayed Rashida’s grandmother and her mother- strong independent women who don’t want to rely on others to get their work done, but they’re willing to get help and open themselves up when they think they can. Overall, The Hookup Dilemma was a fine book (super steamy if that’s what you’re looking for), but not one I would read again.

3 thoughts on “The Hookup Dilemma by Constance Gillam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s