ARC Review: Shadow of Light by Molly E Lee

Happy Tuesday y’all! I 100% thought I had already reviewed this one, but I guess that’s what happens when I read too many books in a short span of time. Anyway, Shadow of Light came out on November 30th and is the sequel to Ember of Night and if you’ve read Ember of Night, I think you’ll enjoy where Shadow of Light took things! As always, thank you so much to Entangled Teen and Netgalley for letting me read an eARC of this book!

Shadow of Light 4/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Brigid Kemmerer and Tracy Wolff, the second novel in Molly E. Lee’s angels-and-demons YA series will keep readers turning pages until the very end.

I just saved the boy I’m falling for from a gruesome death by a demon. And what does he have to say? I’m the key to opening the gates of Hell. I mean, a thank-you would’ve been nice. Or another scorching-hot, forbidden kiss. Either way, destiny will have to find someone else to torment, because I’m so done.

Or I was, until my little sister starts cackling exorcist-style and stares at me with eyes that aren’t hers. They’re Marid’s, the Greater Demon I just kicked back to the dark realm he came from. Possessing Ray whenever he wants is his ultimate revenge.

The only way to break the tether between them includes a road trip through Hell, aka the Ather. I quickly discover nothing is as it seems in this place. Yeah, there are realms of terror, greed, and desire, but there’s also peace, and a beauty I never knew existed…and it’s eerily familiar.

With each obstacle we encounter, I slip a little further into the chaotic energy of my growing dark powers. And when an unexpected betrayal hits me square in the chest, I freefall into them.

Fate painted me as the monster of nightmares, and after this? Destiny is about to learn just how monstrous I can be.

So, I really hate the summary for this book- like outwardly there’s nothing wrong with it, but I just really hate the way it’s written. That style isn’t as bad/pronounced in the book, so it didn’t bother me as much, but the summary is just bleh- but because I did like Ember of Night, I decided to read Shadow of Light, and while the beginning didn’t draw me in, I did love the actual quest through hell that our little squad took. The different realms within Hell and the Hell origin story that the author had were so interesting, so I was definitely a fan of those. I wasn’t always a fan of the characters, because I don’t fully feel like I know them or their motivations, but that’s ok, because the plot and the setting carried this book. And the twist at the very end made this book (just like it did book one), so you’re definitely hooked and ready to read the next book when it comes out. All in all, would I say I loved this book? No. Would I wholeheartedly say that you have to read it? No, but if you want a book with a really fun setting, a cool quest, and a crazy cliffhanger, I definitely liked Shadow of Light (and of course, you’d have to have read Ember of Night before this to understand it).

One thought on “ARC Review: Shadow of Light by Molly E Lee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s