Blog Tour: Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain

Happy Sunday y’all! To all of my friends in the US, woohoo! It’s a long weekend! I’m definitely glad that I get an extra day off tomorrow because I have SO MANY books I need to read haha Speaking of books, today’s my stop on the Dark and Shallow Lies tour by TBR and Beyond Tours (sponsored by Razorbill, so thank you to both TBR and Beyond and Razorbill!) and y’all, I cannot wait to share this book with you!!! Dark and Shallow Lies comes out on September 7, so y’all definitely need to go out and pre-order or put in a request in your library or something ASAP (after reading my review)!

Dark and Shallow Lies 5/5 Stars

Summary from Goodreads:

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

OMG. Like that’s all I have to say about this book. This was such an amazing roller coaster. I was on such a journey with Grey as she tried to figure out who murdered Elora and as Grey started to embrace/come into her psychic powers. It was so intense, and honestly, for La Cachette being such a tiny town (I think they said that the population of the town was 106 at the beginning of the book), there were so many people who not only could have been Elora’s killer, but also had so many things to hide. I love the idea of an island full of people with psychic gifts passed down through the generations and the Summer Children? I loved them too! They were so close and got even closer as a result of a double murder in their childhood (which was so creepy and added to the mystery of this book). Man y’all, Ginny Myers Sain is such a masterful writer and I felt like I was there during the entire book. And the way that she wove Grey’s emotions in with the chaos of the weather at the end causing things to be a little bit all over the place, but in a really, really good way was so amazing. Dark and Shallow Lies is probably the best book I’ve read all year and honestly, I can’t wait to read it again and recommend it to every single person I meet. You definitely won’t regret picking it up. Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

About the Author

Ginny Myers Sain is the author of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES, her debut YA novel available 8-31-21 from Razorbill/Penguin. Although she comes from a long line of writers, her first love has always been the theatre. She has a degree in theatre and has spent most of her career teaching acting and directing plays and musicals. ​Ginny currently live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, with her teenage son and a very cowardly doberman named Shipley. When she is not working in the theatre or writing, you’re likely to find her listening to true crime podcasts, taking pictures of alligators, eating tacos, or planning a trip to Walt Disney World. 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook

One thought on “Blog Tour: Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s